From The Macquarie Dictionary
Australian author, born at Tumbulgum, Murwillumbah, New South Wales; co-founder of the Aboriginal Australian Fellowship in 1956; author of Welou, My Brother (1984). Bandler was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2009.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia Aboriginal elder and Australian Liberal senator 1971-83. Bonner was the first Aborigine to be elected to Australia's federal parliament.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Australian athlete. At the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 she represented Australia and her Aboriginal heritage by lighting the Olympic flame in the opening ceremony, and went on to win gold in the 400 metres. Earlier in her career, she won gold medals at the 1997 and 1999 World Championships, and at the 1990, 1994, and 2002 Commonwealth Games.
From Historical Dictionary of Australia
Pioneering Aboriginal landscape painter and the first Indigenous Australian to be featured on a postage stamp.
From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Born in Mossman, Queensland, the daughter of an Irish father and Aboriginal mother, she trained at the University of New South Wales, the first Aboriginal to graduate in law there, and was called to the Bar in 1976.
From Historical Dictionary of Australia
Aboriginal leader, writer, evangelist, and inventor, Unaipon (an anglicized version of his Ngarrindjeri name, Ngunaitponi) was the first indigenous writer to publish in English. From the early 1920s, he studied Aboriginal mythology and compiled his versions of legends, strongly influenced by the classics and by his research into Egyptology at the South Australian Museum. He is commemorated on the Australian $50 bill.
From The Macquarie Dictionary
Australian author, born at Tumbulgum, Murwillumbah, New South Wales; co-founder of the Aboriginal Australian Fellowship in 1956; author of Welou, My Brother (1984). Bandler was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2009.
Neville Thomas Bonner (1922-1999)
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Aboriginal elder and Australian Liberal senator 1971-83. Bonner was the first Aborigine to be elected to Australia's federal parliament.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Australian athlete. At the Sydney Olympic Games in 2000 she represented Australia and her Aboriginal heritage by lighting the Olympic flame in the opening ceremony, and went on to win gold in the 400 metres. Earlier in her career, she won gold medals at the 1997 and 1999 World Championships, and at the 1990, 1994, and 2002 Commonwealth Games.
From Historical Dictionary of Australia
Pioneering Aboriginal landscape painter and the first Indigenous Australian to be featured on a postage stamp.
From Chambers Biographical Dictionary Born in Mossman, Queensland, the daughter of an Irish father and Aboriginal mother, she trained at the University of New South Wales, the first Aboriginal to graduate in law there, and was called to the Bar in 1976.
From Historical Dictionary of Australia
Aboriginal leader, writer, evangelist, and inventor, Unaipon (an anglicized version of his Ngarrindjeri name, Ngunaitponi) was the first indigenous writer to publish in English. From the early 1920s, he studied Aboriginal mythology and compiled his versions of legends, strongly influenced by the classics and by his research into Egyptology at the South Australian Museum. He is commemorated on the Australian $50 bill.
