Business in Credo: Books

Profiles some of the most influential and innovative women in the history of American business.

Definitive biographies deliver all the essential information on each CEO's career, their highs, lows, management style, vision and distilled wisdom, providing vital lessons that will give YOU the competitive advantage.

Elizabeth Faue reconsiders the varied strains of the labor movement, situating them within the context of rapidly transforming twentieth-century American society to show how these efforts have formed a political and social movement that has shaped the trajectory of American life. An indispensable reading for scholars and students interested in American labor in the twentieth century and in the interplay between labor, wealth, and power.

A complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.

The definitive one-volume guide to every qualification offered in the United Kingdom.

Provides a basic vocabulary of terms used in accounting, from personal finance and investments to company accounts, balance sheets and stock valuations.

A World Bank Group flagship publication, this annual report focuses on measuring the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. Presents quantitative indicators on business regulations and the protection of property rights that can be compared across 190 economies--from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe--and over time.

This A-to-Z encyclopedia provides detailed coverage of America's business history, from the Hudson fur trade to the Internet. Informative entries profile corporate titans and tycoons, Wall Street wizards, industry leaders, and major events and institutions of American business -- spanning the period after American independence to the present day.

Contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.

Everyone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo.

Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work.

Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Work is constantly reshaped by technological progress. New ways of production are adopted, markets expand, and societies evolve. But some changes provoke more attention than others, in part due to the vast uncertainty involved in making predictions about the future. The 2019 World Development Report looks at how the nature of work is changing as a result of advances in technology today.

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' labor and economic histories.

Offers articles with key themes in over 250 best practice and thought leadership articles. This edition comprises key perspectives on environmental, social, and governance factors -- essential for understanding the long-term sustainability of a company.

From balance sheets and profit statements to cashflow, budgets and forecasts, this is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately.

Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.

Key terms, covering all aspects of human resources, including recruitment and selection, appraisals, payment systems, dismissals and industrial relations.

Traces the development of management thinking and major business culture in North America.

Covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level (including: Lodging, Restaurants, Clubs, Time-shares, and Conventions), as well as a functional one (covering Accounting & finance, Marketing, Human resources, Information technology and Facilities management).

A detailed yet concise handbook clarifying all the major terms needed for a thorough understanding of key research methodology concepts in business and management. An invaluable guide for students at all levels seeking assistance with projects, research proposals, dissertations and theses; including case studies and suggestions for further reading.

Presents a realistic perspective on the paradoxes employees face when navigating work and personal responsibilities for career success.