EMCC Libraries: British History in Credo: 21st Century

Events

Austerity
In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Economic programme of cuts to government expenditure and/or tax increases with the aim of reducing government budget deficits and borrowing to fund its activities. Austerity policies became prominent across Europe following the global financial crisis (also known as the Great Recession) that began in 2008, and developed into a Eurozone crisis (European sovereign debt crisis).
Brexit
In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Shorthand term for the British exit from the 28-nation European Union (EU). On 23 June 2016, the UK held a referendum on this issue and, in response to the question ‘Should the UK remain a member of the European Union or leave the European Union?’, 51.9% voted Leave and 48.1% Remain.
Fraud in Construction
In Real Estate Concepts: A Handbook
Fraud in the construction sector could be worth as much as $860 billion (£539 billion) globally, according to a report by Grant Thornton.
Freedom of Information Act
In Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
The right of access by citizens to information of public interest is enshrined in legislation in many countries. In the United Kingdom in 1994 the Conservative government under John Major took a tentative step towards creating a degree of open government with its Code of Practice on Access to Government Information.
London Bombings, 2005
In The Macquarie Dictionary
a series of co-ordinated terrorist attacks involving suicide bombers on 7 July 2005 in London, England, which killed 52 people; attacks carried out by four Islamist extremists targeting commuters on the public transport system during morning rush hour; 7/7.

Notable People

David Cameron (1966 - )

British right-of-centre politician, Conservative party leader 2005–16 and prime minister 2010–16.

Gordon Brown

British Labour politician, prime minister and leader of the Labour Party 2007–10.

Theresa May

In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
British right-of-centre Conservative politician, prime minister from 2016.

Boris Johnson

In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
British right-of-centre Conservative Party politician, mayor of London 2008–16.

J.K. Rowling

English author known for her popular children's books.

Prince William

In Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Elder son of Charles, prince of Wales, and Diana, princess of Wales, and second in line (after Charles) to the British throne.

Kate Middleton

In Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
The consort (2011– ) of Prince William, duke of Cambridge and second in line to the British throne.

Prince Harry

In Chambers Biographical Dictionary
He is the younger son of Charles, Prince of Wales and Diana, Princess of Wales.

David Cameron (1966 - )
British right-of-centre politician, Conservative party leader 2005–16 and prime minister 2010–16.
Gordon Brown
British Labour politician, prime minister and leader of the Labour Party 2007–10.
Theresa May
In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia British right-of-centre Conservative politician, prime minister from 2016.
Boris Johnson
In The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia British right-of-centre Conservative Party politician, mayor of London 2008–16.
J.K. Rowling
English author known for her popular children's books.
Prince William
In Britannica Concise Encyclopedia Elder son of Charles, prince of Wales, and Diana, princess of Wales, and second in line (after Charles) to the British throne.
Kate Middleton
In Britannica Concise Encyclopedia The consort (2011– ) of Prince William, duke of Cambridge and second in line to the British throne.
Prince Harry
In Chambers Biographical Dictionary He is the younger son of Charles, Prince of Wales and Diana, Princess of Wales.