EMCC Libraries: Nursing: Study Tools

Helpful Websites

CINAHL FAQs
This document covers frequently asked questions about CINAHL.
CINAHL Subject Hearings FAQ’s
How to use CINAHL subject headings when conducting research.
CINAHL Continuing Education Modules
CINAHL® CEU modules are interactive educational modules that allow nurses to satisfy CE requirements online.

eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database.
LUMEN Cross-Section Tutorial
This offers CT and image scans of different parts of the body.
Muscle Atlas
This is a website by the Department of Radiology at the University of Washington. It includes models of different muscles in the body.
Musculoskeletal MRI
Magnetic resonance imaging is particularly well suited for the medical evaluation of the musculoskeletal (MSK) system including the knee, shoulder, ankle, wrist and elbow. Injuries such as anterior cruciate ligament, meniscus and rotator cuff tears are all easily diagnosed when there is a firm understanding and knowledge of human anatomy.
NeuroAnatomy Web Resources
Resource created by Duke University that contains information on the different parts and aspects of the Neural System. It also includes several animations on how these parts work. You do need Flash to play the videos.
Radiopaedia
Radiopaedia’s mission is to create the best radiology reference the world has ever seen and to make it available for free, for ever, for all.
Virtual Autopsy
Includes 18 case studies that include case history and the autopsy reports. Clicking on the different sections of the body, shows you the internal body structures that should (after reviewing them) help you to conclude what cause of death was.
Zygote Body Browser
3D model of the human body and the different systems that make up the body.

Centers for Disease Control
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services.
Drugs.com
The most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
HighWire Press
Largest archive of free full-text science Journals
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing
What should you look for when evaluating the quality of health information on Web sites? Here are some suggestions based on our experience.
Pillbox.gov
Identify and search for pills.
PubMed for Nurses
The following set of videos, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching literature in PubMed.
US National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
World Health Organization
WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses.

Medscape
This is an excellent resource for new articles on Nursing, interactive case studies, clinical guidelines, and much more.
You need to create a free account to access the information.
NeuroLogic Exam
This site uses over 250 video demonstrations with narrative descriptions in an online tutorial. It presents the anatomical foundations of the neurologic exam and provides examples of both normal and abnormal conditions as exhibited by patients. Use the Table of Contents on the left to access these tutorials, organized by type of exam.
Stanford Medicine 25
A website of videos on physical exam with detailed explanations
Medline Plus Health Videos
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Bilingual Patient Education Materials
Created by the National Center for Farmworker Health, these are 1-2 page handouts with lots of pictures and minimal text.
Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN)
Multilingual health information in more than 80 languages for health providers, refugees and asylees. Multiple formats (print, audio, video).
EthnoMed
Patient education on a variety of topics in many different languages
U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
Links for resources for refugees and service providers.
KidsHealth
Health information designed for kids, teens and parents. Bright, fun site.
Lab Tests Online
Information for the consumer about various lab tests that are performed, what they mean and how to prepare for them. Produced by the American Association for Clinical Chemistry.

AHRQ Guidelines and Measurement
A website run by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Health Literacy Toolshed
The site contains information about measures, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature.
National Cancer Institute GEM (Grid-Enabled Measures Database
GEM is an interactive website containing behavioral, social science, and other scientific measures organized by theoretical constructs.
NIH Promise Measurements
Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS), funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is a system of highly reliable, valid, flexible, precise, and responsive assessment tools that measure patient–reported health status.
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders.

AHRQ Guidelines and Measurement
A website run by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Centers for Disease Control
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services
Drugs.com
The most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database.
Health Literacy Tool Shed
The site contains information about measures, including their psychometric properties, based on a review of the peer-reviewed literature.
HighWire Press
Largest archive of free full-text science Journals
LUMEN Cross-Section Tutorial
This offers CT and image scans of different parts of the body.
MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing
What should you look for when evaluating the quality of health information on Web sites? Here are some suggestions based on our experience.
Medline Plus Health Videos
These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.
Medscape
This is an excellent resource for new articles on Nursing, interactive case studies, clinical guidelines, and much more.
You need to create a free account to access the information.
Muscle Atlas
This is a website by the Department of Radiology at the University of Washington. It includes models of different muscles in the body.
Musculoskeletal MRI
Magnetic resonance imaging is particularly well suited for the medical evaluation of the musculoskeletal (MSK) system including the knee, shoulder, ankle, wrist and elbow. Injuries such as anterior cruciate ligament, meniscus and rotator cuff tears are all easily diagnosed when there is a firm understanding and knowledge of human anatomy.
National Cancer Institute GEM (Grid-Enabled Measures Database
GEM is an interactive website containing behavioral, social science, and other scientific measures organized by theoretical constructs.
NeuroAnatomy Web Resources
Resource created by Duke University that contains information on the different parts and aspects of the Neural System. It also includes several animations on how these parts work. You do need Flash to play the videos.
NeuroLogic Exam
This site uses over 250 video demonstrations with narrative descriptions in an online tutorial. It presents the anatomical foundations of the neurologic exam and provides examples of both normal and abnormal conditions as exhibited by patients. Use the Table of Contents on the left to access these tutorials, organized by type of exam.
NIH Promise Measurements
Patient Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS), funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is a system of highly reliable, valid, flexible, precise, and responsive assessment tools that measure patient–reported health status.
Pillbox.gov
Identify and search for pills.
PubMed for Nurses
The following set of videos, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching literature in PubMed.
Radiopaedia
Radiopaedia’s mission is to create the best radiology reference the world has ever seen and to make it available for free, for ever, for all.
Stanford Medicine 25
A website of videos on physical exam with detailed explanations
Substance Use Screening & Assessment Instruments Database
This resource is intended to help clinicians and researchers find instruments used for screening and assessment of substance use and substance use disorders.
US National Library of Medicine
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe.
Virtual Autopsy
Includes 18 case studies that include case history and the autopsy reports. Clicking on the different sections of the body, shows you the internal body structures that should (after reviewing them) help you to conclude what cause of death was.
World Health Organization
WHO's primary role is to direct international health within the United Nations' system and to lead partners in global health responses.
Zygote Body Browser
3D model of the human body and the different systems that make up the body.

Return Links

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A comprehensive article collection from scholarly journals and popular magazines. Thousands of subjects are represented and the search tools are efficient and easy to use. A good place to start!
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window The cumulative index to nursing and allied health literature database indexes articles, book chapters, and other resources for nursing students, educators, and those in other health related fields.
Health Source Nursing/ Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Full text articles from scholarly journals in all facets of nursing and health industry related topics.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window Information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other health-related organizations and government agencies.
Nursing Reference Center with CINHAL This link opens in a new window Current and trustworthy information on today's best nursing practices. It indexes materials from many respected publications on the topics of nursing and health care. Some valuable items are available in full text.
R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window R2 Digital Library offers full text access to current textbooks in Nursing, Allied Health, and other STEM fields. Contact the Library if you would like to suggest items to add.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window Provided by American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. It provides reliable information about medications for the general public.
Alternative Health Watch This link opens in a new window Addresses topics like Homeopathy, Eastern Medicine, Chiropractic, and herbal remedies. Includes full text scholarly journals, e-book excerpts, and conference papers.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window Consumer level information on drugs, fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, cancer, and other health related issues from journals, popular magazines, and reference books.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window A comprehensive video collection for both study and entertainment. Tools allow users to build and share playlists and embed segments into Canvas, Powerpoint or other platforms.
InnerBody This link opens in a new window An interactive anatomy study tool.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window Information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other health-related organizations and government agencies.
Natural & Alternative Treatments This link opens in a new window Current information on complementary and alternative medicine and natural health. Topics include medical conditions, nutrition therapies, drug interactions, and homeopathy and more.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window E-Textbooks Developed by Rice University in a range of disciplines. They may be used freely with attribution. ( Cite them!)
PubMed This link opens in a new window Portal to the professional educational resources from the National Library of Medicine
Study Stack Flashcards This link opens in a new window Challenge yourself with flashcards in a whole range of subjects and levels. Make your own, or choose from sets others have shared. Decks can be turned into puzzles and games.

Nursing Videos

Directory of EBSCO Tutorials
EBSCO Health Tutorials are about halfway down the page.
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial
Video on Documenting Your Search Strategy
Understanding Controlled Vocabulary
Using PubMed video links
Several videos on how to use PubMed

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window A comprehensive video collection for both study and entertainment. Tools allow users to build and share playlists and embed segments into Canvas, Powerpoint or other platforms.

Supplemental Information

Mango Languages This link opens in a new window This is a good way to get a basic understanding of Latin that will help you in your career

Healthfinder
a government Web site where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy.
National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the CDC that gathers health statistics in one place.
Public Health Image Library
Another part of the CDC that contains medical images.
Merck Medical Pronunciations
This website has audio files on how to pronounce different medical terms. You will need a computer with audio capabilities to use it. Also, to hear to word, you click on it and wait for the audio. It will NOT open a new window.
MedNar
Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care.
MDcalc
The source for medical equations, scores, and algorithms.
Study Stack Flashcards
Offers a list of premade flashcards, or make your own! Be sure to check out there Medical section.
CST Exam Prep
The National Certifying Examination for Surgical covers the knowledge and skills common to competent entry-level Surgical Technologists in varied settings and geographical locations. NBSTSA committee members designed the examinations to assess the skills that comprise the core body of knowledge for all surgical technologists and surgical first assistants. The CST examination examines practical knowledge, and one night of studying will not lead to passing grades.
AST Journal

Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing

LOCATION: EMCC- Golden Triangle Reserves
This means the book cannot be checked out.

Learning. Applying. Assessing. Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing, DavisPlus Resources, and Davis Edge work together to create an immersive, multimedia learning experience for students and complete teaching materials for instructors.

Medical Dosage Calculations

LOCATION: EMCC Golden Triangle Campus Reserves
This means the book cannot be checked out.

For courses in medical dosage calculation in departments of nursing, pharmacy, pre-med, pre-dental, and other health disciplines; and for courses covering dosage calculation in other programs, such as pharmacology, pediatrics and critical care.

Basic Nursing

LOCATION: EMCC-Golden Triangle Campus Reserves
This means the book cannot be checked out.

LEARN-APPLY-ASSESS Davis Advantage for Basic Nursing takes an all-new approach to RN Fundamentals education by offering a unique focus on the Learn-Apply-Assess continuum. This complete solution integrates an innovative textbook with online adaptive technology to make learning personal.

Medical-Surgical Nursing

LOCATION: EMCC- Golden Triangle Campus Library Reserves
This means the book cannot be checked out.

Davis Advantage Med-Surg is a comprehensive curriculum solution that creates a seamless learning experience across the Learn-Apply-Assess continuum.

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Thumb-Indexed Version)

LOCATION: EMCC-Golden Triangle Campus Library Reference section
This means the book cannot be checked out.

**THIS IS NOT THE 23RD EDITION!**

Taber's 22 brings meanings to life! In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 22 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond.

Free Apps

Medscape
Includes multiple drug references guides, disease & condition references, medical news, CE activities, offline access to clinical resources and more. You must create a free MedScape account to use the app.
MedCalX
MedCalX is a medical calculator app for iOS that gives you easy access to complicated medical formulas, scores, scales and classifications.
MediBabble
Welcome to MediBabble, a free, professional-grade medical translation tool. MediBabble is a robust history-taking and examination application designed to improve the safety, efficiency, and overall quality of care for non-English speaking patients.
Visual Anatomy Lite
Visual Anatomy is an interactive reference, and education tool for medical workers, students and even for anyone who does not have any medical background knowledge. It is one of the most popular anatomy apps in all major appstores!
Fooducate
Track what you eat and your activities to see your progress and achieve your goals